Minutes of the 83rd Annual General Meeting of the Ornithological Society of New Zealand (Inc.)

Held at the Devon Hotel, New Plymouth, 4th June 2023

Present: 121 members including 7 Council members.

Bruce welcomed everyone and opened the meeting.

The agenda and reports were displayed on screen.

Apologies: Paul Garner-Richards, Eleanor Gunby, Bernie Kelly, Paul and Joy Sagar, Sandy Bartle, Rob Schuckard, Willie Cook, Julia Melville, Mike Bell, Sue Bell, Bill Cash, Chris Robertson, Stuart Laurenson, Noel Ward, Jeannie Preddey, and Rebecca Teele.

Motion: That the apologies be accepted. Bruce McKinlay / Colin Miskelly Carried

Recent Deaths:

Michael Bradley Simon Chamberlin Ray Clough Barry Donovan Audrey Eagle Jim Eagles **Geoff Harrow** Murray Jeffries Ted Kitching Sheelagh Leary Sid Lovell Ron Nilsson

Kathy Barrow

Minutes of the 2022 AGM The previous minutes had been circulated online.

Motion: That the minutes of the 82nd AGM held at Christchurch in June 2022, as circulated, be accepted as a true and correct record. Bruce McKinlay / Biz Bell Carried

Matters Arising: There were no matters arising from the previous minutes.

Treasurer's Report: The 2022 accounts have been completed and audited and are available on the website. There was a deficit for the year of \$23,212 which was partly due to an increase in printing and postage costs. Bruce read out the treasurer's report which had been previously circulated online. There were no questions.

Motion: That the Treasurer's Report and financial statements be accepted.

Bruce / David Lawrie Carried

<u>Nominations for Council:</u> The secretary announced that a call for Nominations pursuant to the rules was made and Nominations were received from: Keith Woodley and Mel Galbraith for two three-year terms. There are still two vacancies on Council including the position of secretary. The Council will be looking to co-opt for these positions. Bruce encouraged members to be involved with the governance of the society.

<u>President's Report:</u> Bruce read out his annual report for the 2022 year in which he thanked all those who do outstanding work volunteering for the society. There were no questions or matters arising from the report.

Motion: That the President's report be accepted. Bruce / Johannes Fischer Carried

Awards:

Falla Award: was awarded to Elizabeith (Biz) Bell to a standing ovation.

Meritorious Student Award: was awarded to Gwenda Pulham to a standing ovation

<u>Notornis New Author:</u> Alison Johnston Best Student Author: Peter Jahn

Best Student Talks: Kamya Patel and Pascal Lubbe – first equal

Best Student Poster: Manaia Pearmain-Fenton

<u>Peoples' Choice Poster</u>: Shannon Ritter, Keegan Miskimmin and Lydia Titterton

Bruce thanked Faunatech for sponsoring the student talks; Richard McMillan (General Manager, Faunatech) announced the winner of their raffle.

Most Successful Regions for increasing membership:

Southland – increase in membership by 26.5% Taranaki – 23.3%

Otago – 19.2%

General Business No Notices of Motion had been received by the secretary.

Notices from Council:

- 1. A motion will be presented at the 2024 AGM that the existing OSNZ Constitution be revoked, and a new Constitution will be proposed that will include numerous new requirements and obligations specified in the Incorporated Societies Act 2022.
- 2. Advice from the President of a proposal to be made at the 2024 AGM to increase membership subscriptions in order that the Society's affairs can be managed effectively.

It was asked that if members opted out of receiving both printed copies would there be a reduction in the subscription – Bruce replied that this will be discussed by Council.

- Murray Williams mentioned that Chris Robertson had recently been unwell and could the society please send him best wishes.
- John Cockrem communicated that the Australasian Ornithological Conference is being held in Brisbane in November this year. More presentations are needed from New Zealand and abstracts close soon. Student travel grants are available.

The meeting closed at 4.45pm.	
Minutes compiled by Lynne Anderson, secretary.	
Signed:	Date:
The meeting closed at:	
Signed:	Date:
Bruce McKinlay (President)	